Grateful for Local, Pastured and Organic Chicken!!

Pastured Chicken
Local to Southern Alberta, pastured and organic chicken from Country Lane Naturals

I am looking forward to enjoying this bird tomorrow night!  I pulled this 3.5 lb organically fed and pastured chicken out of my freezer today.  It is also from a local farm which is a bonus, though not sure a benefit when it is already frozen, but possibly.  I found a good recipe online for my slow cooker and finally figured out how to defrost it with limited room in my refrigerator in preparation for a series of chicken meals – starting with the whole chicken main event, followed by bone broth and then soup!  Yum!

Why is it important to have chicken that is raised properly? In short, when they are properly raised, they will provide the best nutritional profile.  It will taste better because it offers more nutrients than conventionally raised chickens from the supermarket.  And more nutrients equal more flavor!!

Within an animal, fat cells will lock in toxins as a way to prevent the body from circulating the toxins and causing damage.  These stored toxins that the chicken, or other animals, have in the fat are then consumed by us human omnivores.  Organic feed, antibiotic free and properly raised chickens will have limited exposure to toxic chemicals and medicines and therefore have healthier fats.  When it is properly raised it will be less likely to get sick as it would in a situation where it is contained indoors in close proximity with large numbers of other chickens.  In that case, it needs to have prophylactic medications.  When the fat is healthy, I can use it for bone broth in which I can essentially harvest the minerals without consuming the toxins from the chicken’s environment.  Though the toxins may be acceptable levels to prevent short-term health threats, no one knows the long term for sure and I’d rather limit my family’s intake of toxins wherever possible.

I believe there are even better sources of chicken available in some areas.  In Canada, due to the weather, it is extremely difficult, if not impossible, to get chickens that have been raised free range or pastured their entire lives.  It gets cold, the snow covers the land and insects chicken forage and they must be given feed.  If this is the case, I’m grateful it’s organic!

Supporting sustainable farming, especially in my locale is important to me.   I want this type of farming to stick around and to improve.  It’s my vote for a healthier me and a healthier environment!   I spent about $16 voting for this 3 1/2 lb chicken which will provide my family with an important part of at least four meals – the whole chicken, the chicken leftover meal, the bone broth for at least two different types of soups.  Optimistically, if the demand for this type of food rises, it will become more affordable in the long run.  I’m also glad to find this particular brand of chicken because I’ve found comparable chickens for $30, so I’ve limited my chicken intake to almost nothing since I’ve changed to a healthy diet.  So my $16, isn’t just for the present chicken defrosting in my cooler, it’s for the future chickens I will buy and my children will buy, hopefully, at an even better price!

chicken in crock pot
3.5lbs of chicken in my crock pot! Looking good!!

Part 2:   Sunday night dinner is in the crock pot!  I adjusted the recipe a little according to what I had in the house.  For example, instead of thyme I had a freeze-dried poultry seasoning with thyme in it.  I added parsley because a lot of garlic is in the recipe.  I used sweet potato instead of carrots and I had lots of celery and fennel around so that went into the bottom of the crock pot, too!  I’m not much of a cook and this is my first time cooking a chicken like this, so I’m pretty proud of how it looks!

I’m eagerly anticipating smelling this cook and then eating it this evening!  😀

3 thoughts on “Grateful for Local, Pastured and Organic Chicken!!

  1. Hello there, I found your website via Google at the same time as searching for a similar subject, your web site
    got here up, it seems to be good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply become alert to your weblog through Google, and located that it is really informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels.
    I’ll be grateful if you happen to proceed this in future. Many other folks shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

